ICDM Tao Li Award 

ICDM Tao Li Award was established in December 2017. The purpose of the award is to honor Professor Tao Li´s life and accomplishment, and reward excellent early career researchers (individuals either in a doctoral program or who have received a doctoral degree less than 10 years prior to receiving the Award) in the field of data mining and machine learning. Each year, starting from 2018, the ICDM steering committee will form an ad-hoc award committee to select one awardee to receive the Tao Li award. The award, worth $2,000 in check, for one awardee, will be given out once a year at the annual IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM). The Tao Li Award was established through public donations, and is managed by the IEEE ICDM steering committee and the FAU Foundation.

ICDM Tao Li Award Winners

2020 Tao Li Award Winner: Dr. Jing Gao, Purdue University, USA (2020 ICDM Tao Li Award)

2019 Tao Li Award Winner: Dr. Hanghang Tong, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA (2019 ICDM Tao Li Award)

2018 Tao Li Award Winner: Dr. Jilles Vreeken, Helmholtz Center for Information Security, Germany (2018 ICDM Tao Li Award)

2020 Tao Li Award Selection Criteria 

Application Submission

Candidates should submit applications to ICDM.Tao.Li.Award.Committee@gmail.com, with following materials being included in the package (please include materials in one zip file, preferably compiling all documents as one pdf file):
  • A one-page executive CV of the candidate.
  • Response to the above selection criteria (2 pages maximum).
  • Certificate showing PhD degree awarding intuition and the time receiving the PhD degree (candidates currently enrolled in a PhD program can submit student ID instead).
  • One referee letter with referee's contact details and signature (preferably NOT applicant´s PhD advisor).

2020 Tao Li Award Submission Deadline

November 15 2020
2020 Tao Li Award Committee
  1. Dr. Stella Batalama (FAU Foundation Delegate)
  2. Dr. Christos Faloutsos (Committee Member)
  3. Dr. Jiawei Han (Commitee Member)
  4. Dr. Claudia Plant (ICDM-20 PC Co-Chair)
  5. Dr. Haixun Wang (ICDM-20 PC Co-Chair)
  6. Dr. Xindong Wu (ICDM Steering Committee Chair)
  7. Dr. Xingquan Zhu (Chair, not to vote unless tie)
Additional Information

Any inquiries and questions about this year´s Tao Li award should be addressed to: ICDM.Tao.Li.Award.Committee@gmail.com.

For more information about the Tao Li Award or ICDM-2020, please access IEEE ICDM-2020 website.